Grisha Bruskin and the AES+F collective share the award for best project of the year

Russia’s €40,000 Kandinsky Prize for project of the year was divided for the first time between two finalists: Grisha Bruskin for his Kafkaesque H-Hour sculpture and the AES+F collective for Allegoria Sacra, the final installment of an epic video trilogy covering Heaven, Hell and Purgatory in the modern world, inspired by the painting of the same name by the Renaissance artist Giovanni Bellini.

Dimitri Venkov won the €10,000 prize for artists 35 years old and under.

The Kandinsky Prize was created by Shalva Breus, a Georgian-born businessman who made a fortune in the Russian paper and pulp industry. The ceremony took place at the Udarnik, a landmark ,Soviet-era cinema that Breus and his ArtChronika Foundation are turning into a museum of contemporary art.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s