Home

Dear Fin DAC, please make a brief description of yourself. Where are you from, what is your background, how, when and why did you become an urban artist?

I am originally from Cork (Ireland) but, having lived in London most of my life, I am essentially a London boy. I became an urban artist just over 4 years ago: mainly to drag myself out of a very negative period of my life and to help redefine a life that had lost its way completely.

I’ve read that you’re the creator/a part of the urban/digital art brand called Beautiful Crime. Would you like to give me some more details about this? 

Beautiful Crime existed long before I had even an inkling of being an urban artist. It was originally the brainchild of 2 urban art enthusiasts and was the first company selling urban art online. It has morphed and changed over the years to incorporate much more and is now a hub for all types of artistic creativity. I got involved on a very ad-hoc basis over 3 years ago but the relationship blossomed very quickly due to our mutual hard work. I am now a partner in the company and the Artistic Director.

Artist Series: FIN DAC from Abid Khan on Vimeo.

Fin, I know you have developed a unique painting style – an urban artistic language – which you call Urban Aesthetics. Can you tell me more about it? 

Urban Aesthetics came about because of a need to differentiate myself from other artists. I wasn’t happy with a lot of what I saw in the English urban art scene and experienced a lot of negativity. I didn’t fit in but, more importantly, I actually didn’t want to. I became an artist to make myself happier… not to keep other people happy. So, getting negative opinions from people who I had nothing in common with and very little respect for was debilitating. Separating myself deliberately from them set me on the path to being a much stronger person: because I knew inside that they would hate me more because of it. I realised I was capable of …..

Want to read the rest of the interview with Fin Dac and view both videos about the artist and more pictures of his brilliant urban art?

Check out the new free online Toxique Magazine vol. 3!

 

 

Leave a Reply

